India announces squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

India Announces Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

On April 30, 2024, India announces squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024. Rohit Sharma has been named as Indian captain. A lot of controversies happen in the IPL 2024 due to the removal of Rohit Sharma from captaincy of the Mumbai Indian team. People thought that Hardik Pandya would lead the Indian team in this coming T20 World Cup.

BCCI showed trust in Rishabh Pant & Sanju Samson among the different wicketkeepers. There is a lot of rumors spread before the squad announcement and many players were there as a strong contender for the wicket-keeping role. This will make the return of Rishabh Pant to international cricket after the serious accident faced in December 2022.

The most successful player in the IPL 2024, Shivan Dube scored 350 runs in 9 matches with a strike rate of 172.41. This performance gave the reward to Dube to be selected in the T20 WC Squad.

India selected the balanced bowling line up with four spinners and 3 pacers with 1 batting all-rounder. Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, and Yuzvendra Chahal are strengthening the spin bowling department. While, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammad Siraj, and Hardik Pandya are the key bowlers for India.

The responsibility of the top order will be on Captain Rohit Sharma, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Suryakumar Yadav, and on Virat Kohli.

While, the Subhman Gill, surprisingly is in the reserve player with the Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, and Avesh Khan.K L Rahul, a big name, missed from this squad, was part of T20 world Cup 2021 & 2022 respectively.

Indian Squad for World Cup 2024

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Hardik Pandya (Vice Captain), Sanju Samson (WK), Rishabh Pant (WK), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj.

Reserves: Khaleel Ahmed, Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, and Avesh Khan

India announces squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024
India Announces Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Indian’s Fixtures in T20 World Cup 2024

India will play 1st match in the T20 World Cup 2024 against Ireland on 5th June 2024. The big clash of this event will held on 9th June between Pakistan & India. Both opening matches will be played at Nassau County International Stadium, New York. The last two matches will be played with the United States of America and Canada on 12th June & 15th June respectively. 3rd match will also played at the same venue and the fourth match will be played at Central Broward Park & Broward County Stadium, Lauderhill.

June 05, 2024India v IrelandNassau County International Stadium, New York
June 09, 2024India v PakistanNassau County International Stadium, New York
June 12, 2024India v USANassau County International Stadium, New York
June 15, 2024India v CanadaCentral Broward Park & Broward County Stadium, Lauderhill

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 will be played from 1st June 2024 to 29th June 2024 in the West Indies and the USA. India will look forward to their second T20I World Cup title in the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024.

The deadline by the International Cricket Council is 1st May 2024 to submit the initial squad for all the 20 participating teams. Boards can make changes in their initially announced squad by May 25, 2024, without the permission of the International Cricket Council. After 25th May 2024, boards will require permission from ICC’s Technical Committee to make changes in their squad in case of injury or any unforeseen event.

FAQs – Frequently Asked Questions

Is India announces Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024?

Yes, on April 30th, 2024 India announced the squad for T20 world Cup.

Who will be the Captain of Indian team in coming world Cup?

Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian team in this coming World Cup.

How many reserve players are there in the Indian Squad for T20 WC?

There are four reserve players in the Indian Squad, named as, Subhman Gill, Rinku Singh, Avesh Khan and Khaleel Ahmed.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *