New Zealand Announces Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

New Zealand Announces Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

On April 29, 2024, New Zealand announces squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024 and become the first team to named their squad. Kane Williamson, an experienced Kiwi batter, has been named as New Zealand’s captain. Kane Williamson will captain New Zealand for fourth time in T20 World Cup and will play his sixth T20 World Cup overall.

In a 15-member squad for T20 WC 2024, left arm experienced fast bowler, Trent Bolt, is also included in the team. Adam Milne, right arm fast bowler, has been left out from the squad due to his ankle injury. Right arm young pacer, Ben Sears is the only players for New Zealand as traveling reserve.

Gary Stead, the New Zealand coach believes that they have selected a well-balanced squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 and he is confident for a good performance from the team. He further said, “I would like to congratulate to every player who named in the T20 WC squad today. It is a special moment to represent your country at a tournament like World Cup. We expect quite varied conditions to be offered in the West Indies venues and feel we have named a squad with the scope to adapt to those varied conditions.”

New Zealand Squad

Kane Williamson (Captain), Devon Conway, Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Daryl Mitchel, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Michael Bracewell, Tim Southee, Trent Bolt, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry and Ish Sodhi.
Travelling Reserves: Ben Sears

New Zealand Announces Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024
New Zealand Announces Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

New Zealand’s Fixtures in T20 World Cup 2024

New Zealand is placed in Group-C of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 along with the co-hosts West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda and Papua New Guinea. New Zealand’s fixtures for Group Stage of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 are as follow:

June 07, 2024New Zealand v AfghanistanProvidence, Guyana
June 12, 2024New Zealand v West IndiesTarouba, Trinidad & Tobago
June 14, 2024New Zealand v UgandaTarouba, Trinidad & Tobago
June 17, 2024New Zealand v Papua New GuineaTarouba, Trinidad & Tobago

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 will be played from 1st June 2024 to 29th June 2024 in West Indies and United States of America. New Zealand will look forward for their first T20IWorld Cup title in the upcoming 2024 T20 World Cup.

The deadline by the International Cricket Council is May 01, 2024 to submit initial squad for all the 20 participating teams. Boards can make change in their initially announced squad by May 25, 2024 without the permission of the ICC. After May 25, 2024, boards will require permission from ICC’s Technical Committee to make change in their squad in case of injury or any unwanted situation. For more details, you can read this article, “Last Date to Submit Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024“.

FAQ’s – Frequently Asked Question

Is New Zealand announced the squad for T20 World Cup 2024?

Yes, New Zealand Announces Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024 on 29th April 2024.

Who is the captain of New Zealand team in T20 WC 2024?

Kane Williamsons leads the team in this coming T20 World Cup.

What is the starting date of T20 World Cup 2024?

The T20 WC will kick off on 1st June 2024 and final will be played on 29th of the same month.

How many reserve players are there in New Zealand squad?

There is only one reserve player in the squad of New Zealand for T20 World cup 2024. The name of the player is Ben Sears, who is medium fast bowler.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *