Pakistan Begins Preparation for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Pakistan Begins Preparation for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Pakistan will take on New Zealand for a 5-match T20I series at home as Pakistan begins preparation for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 with less than 45 days to go to kick of the mega event. The first three matches of the series will take place in Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium whereas both teams will move to Lahore for the last two T20I matches. The schedule of the New Zealand tour to Pakistan 2024 for a five-match T20I series is below here:

First T20IApril 18, 2024Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium
Second T20IApril 20, 2024Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium
Third T20IApril 21, 2024Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium
Fourth T20IApril 25, 2024Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
Fifth T20IApril 27, 2024Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

This series will be the 3rd 5-match T20I series between Pakistan and New Zealand in a span of twelve months. The first series of the three was leveled by 2-2 with one game washed out due to rain last year in Pakistan, the second series was won by New Zealand by 4-1 at their home earlier this year and the third series will kick off in Pakistan on April 18, 2024 in Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium.

On April 09, 2024, the Pakistan Cricket Board announced a 17-member squad against New Zealand with the return of star batter Babar Azam as captain. Left-hand star bowler Muhammad Amir and spin al-rounder Imad Wasim join the squad after coming out of their retirements on a successful request of PCB chairman Mohsin Naqvi. Uncapped Usman Khan, Irfan Khan Niazi and Abrar Ahmed also feature in the squad after their impressive performance in the recently concluded Pakistan Super League season 9 2024.

Right-arm fast bowler Naseem Shah also makes his comeback in the Pakistan squad after getting fitness from injury. He last played for Pakistan in international cricket in the Asia Cup back in 2023 and missed Pakistan’s tour of Australia and New Zealand due to his injury. Naseem Shah was part of Islamabad United (IU) in the PSL 9 2024 and played a vital role in making IU the champion of PSL 9.

Pakistan and New Zealand Squad for the 5-Match T20I Series

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced a 17-member star-studded squad against New Zealand as Pakistan is looking forward to settling their combinations before the start of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 which is scheduled to take place in West Indies and United States of America from June 1, 2024 to June 29, 2024. On the other hand, New Zealand has announced a 15-member squad for the series against Pakistan without their key players.

Pakistan Begins Preparation for ICC T20 World Cup 2024
Pakistan Begins Preparation for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Pakistan Squad: Babar Azam (C), Muhammad Rizwan (WK), Fakhar Zaman, Saim Ayub, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Azam Khan (WK), Usman Khan, Imad Wasim, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Usama Mir, Abrar Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Muhammad Amir, Naseem Shah, Zaman Khan and Abbas Afridi.

Some of the key players from New Zealand like Kane Williamson, Tim Southee, Devon Conway, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchel Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Glenn Philipps, and Rachin Ravindra are left out of the New Zealand squad to tour Pakistan due to participation in the ongoing IPL. Whereas New Zealand’s opening batter Finn Allen and fast bowler Adam Milne where initially in the New Zealand squad for the Pakistan series but left out from the squad due to their injuries few days before the departure of the New Zealand team to Pakistan.

New Zealand Squad: Michael Bracewell (C), Mark Chapman, Tom Blundell (WK), Tim Seifert (WK), Tim Robinson, Jimmy Neesham, Josh Clarkson, Dean Foxcroft, Jacob Duffy, Cole McConchie, Ben Lister, Ben Sears, Ish Sodhi, Zak Foulkes and Will O’Rourke.

Cricket fans can book their ticket at to catch the live action of the Pakistan v New Zealand 2024 series.

Pakistan men’s cricket team will also tour to Ireland and England in May for the T20i series as Pakistan’s preparation ahead of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

Pakistan’s Fixture in ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Pakistan is featuring in Group A in the coming T20 World Cup along with their arch-rivals India, Ireland, Canada, and the United States of America. Pakistan will kick off their campaign in ICC T20 WC 2024 against the United States on June 6, 2024. Pakistan will take on India on June 9, 2024, in the biggest clash of the event at Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York. On 11-06-2024, Pakistan will face Canada at the same Venue. Further, on 16-06-2024, Pakistan will face Ireland at Lauderhill.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *