West Indies announces Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

West Indies announces Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

On May 03, 2024, West Indies announces squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024 co-hosted by the West Indies and USA. West Indies board announced that Rovman Powell, batting all-rounder will lead the team in T20 World Cup 2024.  Rovman Powell will be captain of West Indies for the first time in T20 World Cup.

Shamar Joseph, a young fast Bowler, debuted in the last test series against Australia and was given an impressive performance. Now, he is called for the coming T20 World Cup. He was also part of the PSL franchise, Peshawar Zalmi, but left the PSL 9 for his injury.

Shimron Hetmyer also a part of this squad, was missing in the series against Australia. Currently, he is playing in the IPL 2024, where he scored 83 runs in 4 innings with a strike rate of 184.44 as a part of Rajasthan Royals. Kyle Mayers and Oshane Thomas aren’t included in the T20 squad.

Johnson Charles, Shai Hope, and Brandon King are the possible players to fill the top order. West Indies management relied on the all-rounder and middle-order responsibility will be on Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Powel, Shimron Hetmyer, Sherfane Rutherford, Jason Holder, and Romario Shepherd.

Akeal Hossain and Gudakesh Motie will take responsibility for the spin department, while the fast bowling department will be in charge by Vice-captain Joseph with the support of Shamar Joseph.

Director of West Indies Cricket Desmond Haynes given his views on this team selection:

“We had a very long conversation related to the batting order,” he said. “I want to state clearly that our ultimate focus has always been on roles (roles that we want people to play). The form of someone like Shamar Joseph, you really can’t ignore him, we saw him in an Australian series. He was perfect and ticked all the boxes for us.

West Indies Squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

Squad: Rovman Powell (c), Alzarri Joseph, Roston Chase, Johnson Charles, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell,  Akeal Hosein, Shamar Joseph, Brandon King, Gudakesh Motie, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd.

No reserve player in the Windies Squad.

West Indies announces Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024
West Indies announces Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

West Indies’s Fixtures in ICC T20 WC 2024

West Indies in Group C alongside Afghanistan, New Zealand, Uganda, and Papua New Guinea. The 1st match of West Indies (two-time T20 WC champions) will be on 2nd June 2024 against the PNG. West Indies’s fixtures for the Group Stage of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 are as follows:

June 02, 2024West Indies v PNGProvidence Stadium, Guyana
June 08, 2024West Indies v UgandaProvidence Stadium, Guyana
June 12, 2024West Indies v New ZealandTarouba, Trinidad & Tobago
June 17, 2024West Indies v AfghanistanGros Islet, Saint Lucia

The ICC T20 WC 2024 will be played in the United States of America and the West Indies from 1st June 2024 – 29th June 2024. West Indies will look forward to their 3rd T20I World Cup title in the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

Any Cricket Board can alter their initial squad by May 25th, 2024, without getting permission from the International Cricket Council. After May 25th, 2024, due to any unforeseen event or emergency, boards will require permission from the Technical Committee of the International Cricket Council for any alter or change in the squad.

FAQs – Frequently Asked Questions

When West Indies announces squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024?

On May 3rd, 2024, West Indies announced the squad for T20 World Cup 2024.

Who will be the captain of the West Indies Cricket team in this T20 World Cup?

Rovman Powell will lead the West Indies cricket team in this coming T20 World Cup.

How many reserve players are there in the squad?

There is no reserve player in the West Indies T20 WC squad.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *